How is Brazil divided up?

Brazil is officially divided into five regions: North, Northeast, Center-West, Southeast and South. … Brazil is the largest country in South America and the fifth-largest in the world, with an area of 8,515,767 km² . The country is subdivided in 26 States and the Federal District.

What are the three regions of Brazil?

The South Region of Brazil is made up of three states: Rio Grande do Sul, Santa Catarina, and Paraná.

The Five Regions Of Brazil.

Name Central-West
Population (2016 Estimate) 15.6 million
Largest city Brasília
Largest Metropolitan Area Brasilia Urban Metropolitan Complex
Number of States 3 + DC

What makes Brazil unique?

Brazil is unique in the Americas because, following independence from Portugal, it did not fragment into separate countries as did British and Spanish possessions in the region; rather, it retained its identity through the intervening centuries and a variety of forms of government.

Why is Brazil population so high?

The main factor behind the rapid population growth since 1960 is immigration both from Europe and Africa, as well as other points of the world. Current high population growth is explained by the high level (more than half of Brazil population) of young people under the age of 20 years.

What are 5 interesting facts about Brazil?

Brazil number ones

  • São Paulo is the largest city in the southern hemisphere.
  • Brazil has more animal and plant species than any other country in the world.
  • Brazil has been the largest producer of coffee for the last 150 years.
  • Portuguese is the official language in Brazil.
  • Brazil was a Portuguese colony for 322 years.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: What is so special about South America?