Quick Answer: What does Department mean in Colombia?

Colombia has 32 departments (Spanish: departamentos, sing. … Departments are country subdivisions and are granted a certain degree of autonomy.

How Colombia is divided?

Colombia can be divided into five traditional geographic regions: the Atlantic lowlands, the Pacific coastal region, the Andean region, the Llanos, and the Amazonian rainforest.

What does the Colombian flag represent?

This flag was created when Colombia gained its independence from Spain in 1810. The yellow symbolizes independence, justice, and freedom. The blue represents loyalty and the two seas that border Colombia.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why did Asians go to Peru?