Frequent question: What are the 4 major geographic regions in Ecuador?

Ecuador has four distinct regions — the Pacific Coast, Galápagos Islands, Andes Mountains, and Amazon Jungle.

What are some major landforms in Ecuador?

Ecuador is divided into four distinct regions including coastal plains, Andean highlands, tropical jungle and the Galapagos Islands, which are located roughly 600 miles off the coast.

Is Ecuador a poor country?

Ecuador is a middle-income country with an economy highly dependent on oil and export agriculture. Almost one quarter of the population in Ecuador lives in poverty, most of them in rural areas. The rural poverty rate, at 43 per cent in 2018 , is almost triple the urban rate (15,9).

What is the name of the most famous volcano in Ecuador?

Dangerous history. Cotopaxi is one of Ecuador’s most active volcanoes and, at 5,897m (19,347 ft), its second-highest peak after the Chimborazo.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How long did the Chilean coup last?