What are the five regions of Colombia?

Colombia can be divided into five traditional geographic regions: the Atlantic lowlands, the Pacific coastal region, the Andean region, the Llanos, and the Amazonian rainforest.

What are the 6 regions of Colombia?

Colombia is divided into six natural regions constituted by differences in topography, weather, vegetation and types of soil: the Andean Region, covering the three branches of the Andes mountains; the Caribbean Region, covering the area adjacent to the Caribbean Sea; the Pacific Region adjacent to the Pacific Ocean;

How is Colombia divided?

Colombia is divided into 32 departments. These in turn are divided into municipalities, though some receive the special category of district. However, there are also provinces, a generic name applied to provinces, districts, regions and subregions. … Most Colombian provinces have this kind of subdivision.

Is Colombia a third world country?

Yes, it is. Colombia can be described as a third world country by modern definitions. Economically, it is less advanced than the first and second world countries.

Is Colombia a Caribbean country?

The Caribbean region of Colombia or Caribbean coast region is in the north of Colombia and is mainly composed of 8 departments located contiguous to the Caribbean.


Department Atlántico
2018 Census 2.342.265
2005 Census 2.112.001
Capital Barranquilla

How many states do we have in Colombia?

Colombia became a federal state itself composed of nine “sovereign states.” It comprised the present-day nations of Colombia and Panama and parts of northwestern Brazil.

United States of Colombia.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is Brazil in a trade deficit or surplus?
United States of Colombia Estados Unidos de Colombia (Spanish)
Flag Coat of arms
Status Federation
Capital Bogotá

Is Bogota a city or a state?

It was Simón Bolívar who rebaptized the city with the name of Bogotá, as a way of honoring the Muisca people and as an emancipation act towards the Spanish crown.

Country Colombia
Department Capital District Cundinamarca (see text)
Founded 6 August 1538 (traditional)
Founded by Gonzalo Jiménez de Quesada