What countries in South America don’t speak Spanish?

Guyana, French Guiana (one of the overseas territories of France), and Suriname, which are found the northern part of South America and known together as the Guianas, are the only places in South America that do not speak Spanish or Portuguese.

Which 4 countries in South America are not Spanish speaking?

The Four “Don’t” Countries

However, they do not consider Spanish to be their primary language of communication in society and/or official government business. These countries are Brazil (Portuguese), Guyana (English), Suriname (Dutch), French Guiana (French).

What are the three non-Spanish speaking countries in South America?

Hispanic Heritage

Question Answer
5. What are the three non-Spanish speaking countries in South America? Brazil, French Guyana, Suriname
6. What was Simόn de Bolivar’s nickname? How did he earn it? “The Liberator”- he played a leading role in the liberation of South America from Spain.

Which country in South America doesn’t speak Spanish as its most popular language?

No, out of the 13 countries only Peru, Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Bolivia, Paraguay, Bolivia, Colombia, and Ecuador speak spanish. Which countries in South America don’t speak spanish as their official language? Surinam, Brazil, French Guiana, and Guyana.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How hot does it get in Lima?

Why do so many South American countries speak Spanish?

In the 15th century, Christopher Columbus sailed to the Americas and brought with him the Castilian Spanish language. … In particular, Mexican and Peruvian natives were able to significantly influence the language spoken today in Latin America.

What is the main religion of South America?

Religion in South America has been a major influence on art, culture, philosophy and law. Christianity is the main religion, with Roman Catholics having the most adherents. Sizeable minorities of non-religious people and adherents of other religions are also present.

Which countries speak Spanish as a second language?

Spanish is the official or co-language of the following countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Uruguay, Venezuela and Spain.

What is the only Spanish speaking country in South America?

Spanish is the official language of Mexico, in addition to many countries in Central and South America. Two of the largest Spanish speaking countries in South America are Colombia (about 46 million Spanish speakers) and Argentina (about 41 million Spanish speakers).