Which is the second largest region in Guyana?

No. Region Area (km2)
1 Barima-Waini 20,339
2 Pomeroon-Supenaam 6,195
3 Essequibo Islands-West Demerara 3,755
4 Demerara-Mahaica 2,232

What are the 10 regions in Guyana?

The ten (10) Administrative Regions of Guyana are:

  • Region 1 – Barima-Waini.
  • Region 2 – Pomeroon-Supenaam.
  • Region 3 – Essequibo Islands-West Demerara.
  • Region 4 – Demerara-Mahaica.
  • Region 5 – Mahaica-Berbice.
  • Region 6 – East Berbice-Corentyne.
  • Region 7 – Cuyuni-Mazaruni.
  • Region 8 – Potaro-Siparuni.

What is the name of region 1?


Barima-Waini Region 1
Country Guyana Claimed by Venezuela (as part of Delta Amacuro state)
Regional Capital Mabaruma
• Total 20,399 km2 (7,876 sq mi)

What’s the capital of Guyana?

Is Guyana a Caribbean country?

Guyana, officially the Co-operative Republic of Guyana, previously the colony of British Guiana, is a sovereign state on the northern coast of South America that is culturally part of the Anglophone Caribbean.

What religion is in Guyana?

According to the country’s 2012 census, 64 percent of the population is Christian, 25 percent Hindu, 7 percent Muslim (mainly Sunni), and less than 1 percent belongs to other religious groups. Groups that together constitute less than 1 percent of the population include Rastafarians and Baha’is.

What is the name of Region 8 in Guyana?


Potaro-Siparuni Region 8
Map of Guyana showing Potaro-Siparuni region
Country Guyana Claimed by Venezuela (as part of Bolívar state) (to the west of Essequibo river)
Regional Capital Mahdia
IT IS INTERESTING:  How many cups is 2 pounds of brazil nuts?