You asked: What are the 5 official languages of South America?

Language Speakers Countries
Portuguese 211,754,600 Brazil, Venezuela, Paraguay, Uruguay, Argentina
Quechua 7,735,620 Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador, Argentina, Chile, Colombia
English 6,925,850 Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Suriname, Guyana, Falkland Islands
Guarani 6,162,790 Paraguay, Bolivia, Argentina

What are the 5 South American languages?

Most Spoken Languages in South America

  • Spanish. What is the most widely spoken language in South America? …
  • Portuguese. Hot on the heels of Spanish, Portuguese has 206 million speakers in South America. …
  • Quechua. …
  • Guarani. …
  • English. …
  • Aymara. …
  • German. …
  • Italian.

What are the 5 official languages?

There are six official languages of the UN. These are Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.

Language Days at the UN

  • Arabic (18 December)
  • Chinese (20 April)
  • English (23 April)
  • French (20 March)
  • Russian (6 June)
  • Spanish (23 April)

What is the main religion of South America?

Religion in South America has been a major influence on art, culture, philosophy and law. Christianity is the main religion, with Roman Catholics having the most adherents. Sizeable minorities of non-religious people and adherents of other religions are also present.

Which language is spoken most in world?

English is the largest language in the world, if you count both native and non-native speakers. If you count only native speakers, Mandarin Chinese is the largest. Mandarin Chinese is the largest language in the world when counting only first language (native) speakers.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: Is Guyana considered Spanish?

Who is the official language?


Institutions Languages
World Customs Organization English, French, and Spanish (with translation offered into Arabic and Russian).
World Health Organization (WHO) Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.
World Trade Organization (WTO/OMC) English, French and Spanish.

Which is not official language of UNO?

The United Nations Secretariat uses two working languages: English and French. The United Nations has drawn criticism for relying too heavily on English, and not enough on the other five official languages. Spanish-speaking member nations formally brought this to the attention of the Secretary-General in 2001.