What are the names of the 13 countries in South America?

South America includes 14 countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Falkland Islands (United Kingdom), French Guiana (France), Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Are there 12 or 13 countries in South America?

The continent generally includes twelve sovereign states: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela; two dependent territories: the Falkland Islands and South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands; and one internal territory: French Guiana.

How many countries in South America and their names?

South America contains 12 countries and 2 dependencies.

12 Countries of South America.

Country Population
Paraguay 7,044,640
Peru 32,510,450
Suriname 581,360
Uruguay 3,461,730

Which countries make up South America?

The portions of the landmass that lie south of the Isthmus of Panama became known as South America. Today, South America is home to the citizens of Colombia, Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname, French Guiana, Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, the Falkland Islands, Chile, Peru, Ecuador, Bolivia, and Paraguay.

What are the names of two countries in South America?

Countries in South America by population (2021)

# Country (or dependency) Urban Pop %
1 Brazil 88 %
2 Colombia 80 %
3 Argentina 93 %
4 Peru 79 %

Which country in South America is still ruled by another country?

With 215,000 square kilometres (83,000 sq mi), Guyana is the third-smallest sovereign state by area in mainland South America after Uruguay and Suriname; it is also the second-least populous sovereign state in South America after Suriname.


IT IS INTERESTING:  What American products are popular in Colombia?
Co-operative Republic of Guyana
Other languages show 6 languages

What makes South America unique?

South America is a continent of extremes. It is home to the world’s largest river (the Amazon) as well as the world’s driest place (the Atacama Desert). … With an unparalleled number of plant and animal species, South America’s rich biodiversity is unique among the world’s continents.

Why is it called South America?

Those portions of the New World landmass that widen out north of the narrow land bridge of the Isthmus of Panama became known as North America, and those that broaden to the south became known as South America. … They call the region between those two points Central America.