Question: What is the name of the largest natural region in Guyana?

The largest of Guyana’s three geographical regions is the interior highlands, a series of plateaus, flat-topped mountains, and savannahs that extend from the white sand belt to the country’s southern borders. The Pacaraima Mountains dominate the western part of the interior highlands.

Which is the second largest region in Guyana?

It contains Guyana’s second largest city, Linden, with other towns including Ituni, Kalkuni, Kwakwani, Kurupakari, Rockstone and Takama. The inland region of Upper Demerara-Upper Berbice contains the largest portion of the hilly sand and clay area.

Capital Linden
Area 17,040 sq km (6,580 sq mi)
Population (2012) 39,452

What are the natural resources of Guyana?

In addition to its well-known deposits of gold, bauxite, and diamonds, Guyana’s mineral heritage includes deposits of semi-precious stones, kaolin, silica sand, soap stone, kyanite, feldspar, mica, ilmenite, laterite, manganese radioactive minerals, copper, molybdenum, tungsten, iron, and nickel, among others.

Which sea is closest to Guyana?

Guyana is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the north, by Suriname (along the Courantyne River) to the east, by Brazil to the south and southwest, and by Venezuela to the west.

How cold does it get in Guyana?

Thanks to its location just above the equator Guyana has a tropical climate. Temperatures are high with maximum temperatures around 30-31 degrees Celsius (86-88° Fahrenheit) almost all year round and night temperatures around 22 to 24 degrees Celsius (71-75°F).

IT IS INTERESTING:  Where does most music in Brazil originate from?

What religion is in Guyana?

According to the country’s 2012 census, 64 percent of the population is Christian, 25 percent Hindu, 7 percent Muslim (mainly Sunni), and less than 1 percent belongs to other religious groups. Groups that together constitute less than 1 percent of the population include Rastafarians and Baha’is.

What are the 10 regions in Guyana?

The ten (10) Administrative Regions of Guyana are:

  • Region 1 – Barima-Waini.
  • Region 2 – Pomeroon-Supenaam.
  • Region 3 – Essequibo Islands-West Demerara.
  • Region 4 – Demerara-Mahaica.
  • Region 5 – Mahaica-Berbice.
  • Region 6 – East Berbice-Corentyne.
  • Region 7 – Cuyuni-Mazaruni.
  • Region 8 – Potaro-Siparuni.